Hutto High School

Skip to main content
Welcome to Hutto High School, home of the Hustlin' Hippos!  
Elementary Testing – STAAR Testing – Hutto Independent School District

Hutto Independent School District

Skip to main content
STAAR Testing » Elementary Testing

Elementary Testing


STAAR™ will include the following elementary school assessments:
  • 3rd grade Mathematics and Reading
  • 4th grade Mathematics, Reading and Writing
  • 5th grade Mathematics, Reading and Science

Elementary School Tests
The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR™) replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) starting in the 2011-12 school year. STAAR™ includes assessments in the following grades and subjects at the elementary level:
  • 3rd – Mathematics & Reading (including English and Spanish versions)
  • 4th – Mathematics, Reading & Writing (including English & Spanish versions)
  • 5th – Mathematics, Reading & Science (including English & Spanish versions)

What’s different about STAAR™?
STAAR includes more difficult testing methods and require a higher level of student performance. Assessments will increase in length at most grades and subjects. There will also be a four-hour time limit for the STAAR grades 3–8 assessments and the STAAR EOC assessments.

For reading, greater emphasis will be placed on critical analysis of passages rather than literal understanding. The writing test will require more essays in both first-person and expository styles. On the science and mathematics tests, STAAR will include a type of open-ended question known as a griddable item. The purpose of griddable items is to allow students to develop answers independently without being influenced by answer choices provided with the questions (commonly known as multiple-choice). Most science and mathematics assessments will include three to five griddable items. Illustrations of the test design for grades 3-8 are available at

How does STAAR™ affect promotion to the next grade level?

Districts will be required to provide remediation to any student who fails a STAAR assessment, whether in grades 3-8 or high school.